Body Mind Master by Dan Millman

VIGOR, VITALITY & ACTIVITY

Start with the basics instead of thinking you need to go somewhere to do it. Why would you fight for the closest spot at a gym only to go on the treadmill and walk?

THE FEAR OF FAILURE

Accept (and embrace) that failure is going to come with success

ROCKIN’ IT BABY-STYLE

If babies were as self critical as we are, they would never learn to walk or talk – think about it

THE MOMENT OF TRUTH IS NOW!

“Body mind masters eventually come to realize that this and every moment, on or off the field, is the moment of truth”

BACKING UP TO GET A RUNNING START

Everyone will get stuck in a slump every so often, but sometimes you need to take a step back before you can leap to the next level

RELAX & STAY FOCUSED ON CONSTRUCTIVE ACTION

As Dan puts it, “Life demands much of us, on and off the playing field. Emotional talent is the capacity to stimulate and draw upon our natural fountain of energy—to learn to blow into our own sails. We develop emotional talent not by relying on motivation all the time but by applying our will no matter how we feel.”.

INSTANT SATORI

Take your keys and throw it in the air. How catch it. During that brief moment, you were not thinking about anything else – your body was alert and vitalized. That’s satori (from the Japanese Zen tradition that points to a ‘sudden awakening’ or ‘insight into our fundamental nature)

THE LAW OF ACCOMMODATION

Our body is malleable – it may change slowly, but it will change. That’s why it’s much better to do things consistently at a much lower intensity as oppose to doing it really intensely every so often

BUILDING NEW HABITS

Unless the desire to change remain strong, your mind and body will return to the old habits. But if you persevere through months (typically 3-6), you will have adopted a new pattern – a new you

MASTERS SHINE EVERYWHERE

Masters of one thing are masters of everything as they have learned to master themselves

My Take Aways

Many of the quotes in this PN were amazing (and I won’t diverge anymore than what I already have – support Brian and sign up yourself!). The two big take aways for me is the “rock it like a baby” concept and “Masters shine everywhere”. With the baby piece, I realized that I am still too self critical and that it is definitely hindering me (especially when it comes to learning another language). The masters concept caught my attention because I realized just how true it is – it’s not about mastering something, but the process it took for you to master yourself along the way. This concept along with building new habits, are the two that I will remind myself everytime my alarm goes off at 6 (maybe it’ll have to go off earlier – I’m getting closer and closer to being late for work).

As for reading this book in more depth: I don’t think I have too much of a problem starting and creating habits for myself and so I will have to say not any time soon (although the PN did provide some great quotes and insights). However if you are looking to create some habits to recreate yourself, this would be a great place to start. Buy Body Mind Master here (please note that I will be getting a small amount from Amazon, though it does not affect how much you pay – Amazon just makes less money than if you were to go onto the website yourself). I also suggest you check out the actual Philosopher’s Notes (note they even have courses that consolidate many of the concepts in the books that Brian Joshnson covers and puts them into videos that are really easy to digest). This is the first program that I’ve signed up for and am definitely getting my money’s worth!

So what are your thoughts about the post?

