Live Life Aggressively by Mike Mahler

DOING WHAT NEEDS TO BE DONE

“You don’t have to like it, you just have to do it. Doing what needs to be done even when it’s the last thing you want to do, is the critical factor in achieving success”

BE A PROFESSIONAL

The amateur believes he must overcome his fear before starting, the professional knows that the fear can never be overcome. You have to take action regardless of what you think otherwise you will never take that first step.

ADDICTION TO ENTERTAINMENT

When you’re watching TV, are you just watching or is it provoking an internal conversation within you? If you think watching TV is “enjoyable”, phychologists have shown that the average emotional state while watching TV is mild depression…

WHAT DO YOU GENUINELY ENJOY?

I genuinely enjoy learning a bunch of different things and finding ways to apply it to my life. What about you, what do you generally enjoy?

CHOOSE ANOTHER PATH

“Being delusional is a sure fire way to stay in neutral indefinitely. Just because you choose not to see a problem does not mean it doesn’t exist.” – Mike Mahler
Just because you have started something or are on a path does not mean you have to continue it. Just because your friends all hate their jobs doesn’t mean you have to too. This is something I have also personally experienced back in university. I was not enjoying my program and found it really difficult to not only admit it to myself, but to take action on it. I eventually sucked it up, made the switch to a new university and it was by far the best decision I’ve made in life since. That one decision helped me realize that it’s not only okay to change paths, but it gets me closer to who I want to become. Now I actively look for a new paths to take.

THANKFUL BUT DISSATISFIED

“What it comes down to is this, the best way to lead a gratifying life is to be thankful but also to be dissatisfied. Not dissatisfied like some ingrate that complains all day long about luxury problems, but dissatisfied with your present state of development.” – Mike Mahler
This goes right back to the last point of choosing another path – I am now constantly thankful for all the experiences that I’ve had, but also constantly dissatisfied with staying stagnant (which is the reason why I read these PN – to find new books that will take me to the next step).

EMBRACE FAILURE

There was a quote by Brian Tracy that went along the lines of “If babies were as self critical as we are today, they would never learn to walk or talk”. This really put things in perspective for me as failures (and learning from them) really is the fundamental basis for future successes. Now it’s time for me to find the fastest ways to fail…

DO YOU HAVE THE COURAGE TO EVOLVE?

Are you spending more time complaining about your life or creating your ideal life? It’s never easy to make changes, but it’s a lot easier than living with regret.

MAKE YOUR LIFE YOUR MESSAGE

What is your message that you want to tell the world? Now live it.

My Take Aways

Overall, this PN was more of a chance for me to reflect on where I’ve come from than where I want to go. The part about changing paths really resonated with me (which is why it’s much longer than any of the other big concepts). I know most of you are thinking that it’s not that easy to change, that there are so many factors for changing paths. I can’t really tell you otherwise – the only thing I can do is hope to inspire you to rethink your situation.

To expand on my story, I had never failed a course before and when I started seriously thinking of making that switch, I felt like I failed in life. My parents were not the happiest with what I was thinking (at that point, I had 1.5 years left in my degree and I was going to push it to 2.5 years). When my aunts and uncles were asking how school was, I couldn’t really tell them straight and my parents also tried to avoid that topic. However, fast forward 4 years – I have truly discouvered myself, I am rocking out life – doing things that I love and have a very good understanding of myself. My relationship with my parents are way stronger than they have ever been and I feel like ever since then, I’m living life on my terms. It’s definitely a liberating feeling.

Now, as for whether I’d buy this book – I think I have enough inspiration in myself that reading a book to inspire me to take certain actions is not as relevant as some other books I have on my reading list. However, if you are hoping to get inspired, and to question yourself about your current perspective on life – Live Life Aggressively! might be a good book to start. As always, if you are thinking of purchasing this book (or anything else really) and you felt like I contributed to this decision, please do click on this link before buying (please note that I will be getting a small amount from Amazon, though it does not affect how much you pay – Amazon just makes less money than if you were to go onto the website yourself). I also suggest you check out the actual Philosopher’s Notes (note they even have courses that consolidate many of the concepts in the books that Brian Joshnson covers and puts them into videos that are really easy to digest). This is the first program that I’ve signed up for and am definitely getting my money’s worth!

So what are your thoughts about the post?

