The Greatest Salesman in the World by Og Mandino

THE 10 SCROLLS

  1. I will form good habits
  2. I will greet this day with love in my heart
  3. I will persist until I succeed
  4. I am nature’s greatest miracle
  5. I will live this day as if it is my last
  6. Today I will be master of my emotions
  7. I will laugh at the world
  8. Today I will multiply my value a hundredfold
  9. I will act now
  10. I will pray for guidance

OBSTACLES ARE GOOD

“Obstacles are necessary for success… each struggle, each defeat, sharpens your skills and strengths, your courage and your endurance, your ability and your confidence and thus each obstacle is a comrade-in-arms forcing you to become better… or quit.” – Og Mandino
Although I don’t enjoy encountering the obstacle the moment of, but thinking back, those obstacles become memories, mostly laughable memories. But more importantly, they were the obstacles that helped me reach a new level or personal growth, and for that, I try to always be grateful for encountering obstacles.

WISDOM FROM THE 1ST SCROLL: FORM GOOD HABITS!

““In truth, the only difference between those who have failed and those who have succeeded
lies in the difference of their habits. Good habits are the key to all success. Bad habits are the
unlocked door to failure.” – Og Mandino
This has been something that I’ve been a true believer for the past 3 months or so. I’m trying to build up some key habits / routines to set me up for success. Those include waking up at 6, meditating for 20 minutes, some form of workout for 20 – 30 minutes, preparing my lunch for work, reading and reflecting on a PN, walk to work. If you’re interested in knowing why, read the about me page or shoot me a message (as I don’t have an about me page just yet).

SCROLL #2: IT’S ALL ABOUT LOVE

“I will love the sun for it warms my bones; yet I will love the rain for it cleanses my spirit. I will love the light for it shows me the way; yet I will love the darkness for it shows me the stars.” – Og Mandino
The way I took this is being able to look at each scenario in multiple angles and finding the good – the silver-lining if you will. Although still a new concept for me, when I run into really bad traffic, instead of cursing at the world, I wish that whoever was the unfortunate one to have caused the traffic was okay.

I WILL PERSIST UNTIL I SUCCEED

“The prizes in life are at the end of each journey, not near the beginning; and it is not given to me to know how many steps are necessary in order to reach my goal.” – Og Mandino
Life must be a challenge in order for us to experience the good times. If everything was given to us, we would eventually get bored and lose interest in what life has to offer.

I WILL LAUGH AT THE WORLD (AND MYSELF!)

“Will my concern for this day not seem foolish ten years ahead? Why should I permit the petty happenings of today to disturb me? What can take place before this sun sets which will not seem insignificant in the river of centuries.
I will laugh at the world.” – Og Mandino
From a literal perspective, this is something I do not do well – though I do not take myself too seriously,I feel like I don’t know how to laugh at myself. I definitely don’t let petty things (obstacles) happening in life control my life.

TODAY I WILL MULTIPLY MY VALUE A HUNDREDFOLD

“I am liken to a grain of wheat which faces one of three futures. The wheat can be placed in a sack and dumped in a stall until it is fed to swine. Or it can be ground to flour and made into bread. Or it can be placed in the earth and allowed to grow until its golden head divides and produces a thousand grains from that one.
I am liken to a grain of wheat with one difference. The wheat cannot choose whether it be fed to swine, ground for bread, or planted to multiply. I have a choice and I will not let my life be fed to swine nor will I let it be ground under the rocks of failure and despair to be broken open and devoured by the will of others.
Today I will multiply my value a hundredfold.” – Og Mandino
I really try to avoid using a full quote that Brian has found and placed in his PN, but this was far too good for me to try to replace. I really don’t have much more to say besides reread that…

ACT NOW!

“Never has there been a map, however carefully executed to detail and scale, which carried its owner over even one inch of ground.”
It’s good to plan, but it means absolutely nothing until you act. As Brian Tracy (the author of a few books that I am reading and want to read) has said (and I’m paraphrasing here), it may take time to reach your goals, but the first action required is to set your mind on those goals.

My Take Aways

This book seems to be written in such an interesting read. All the quotes that Brian was able to pull from Og Mandino were all inspirational. I am definitely doing many of the things that were mentioned in this PN, but I feel like there is much more value that I can extract by reading this book. That said, I will be putting this book on my to read. Best part is, it seems like it’s written in an easy to read fashion so maybe I can even finish it today!

If you’re interested in reading The Greatest Salesman in the World, please buy it through this link (please note that I will be getting a small amount from Amazon, though it does not affect how much you pay – Amazon just makes less money than if you were to go onto the website yourself). I also suggest you check out the actual Philosopher’s Notes (note they even have courses that consolidate many of the concepts in the books that Brian Joshnson covers and puts them into videos that are really easy to digest). This is the first program that I’ve signed up for and am definitely getting my money’s worth!

So what are your thoughts about the post?

