The 10x Rule by Grant Cardone

THE 10X RULE

The 10X Rule is about pure domination mentality. You never do what others do. You must be willing to do what they won’t do—and even take actions that you might deem ‘unreasonable.” – Grant Cardone
I’ve experienced this in various parts of life – I’ve told people I was going to do x, y, z and they said don’t bother, it’s not possible or stop saying all these silly things. Because of that, it’s got me further, faster, than those people. However, I’ve never thought about 10x (it’s usually 2-3x)… excited to learn more from this PN!

THE FOUR DEGREES OF ACTION

“Understanding how to calculate and then take the right amount of action is more important than your concept, idea, invention, or business plan.” – Grant Cardone
The 4 degrees are: do nothing, retreat, take normal levels of action, take massive action
It goes without saying that taking massive action is the only way to get massive results. You know you’re taking massive actions when some (or most people) start calling you obsessive, greedy, never satisfied, driven etc. But if you pay attention, those are the people who are in the first 3 degrees – people at the 4th degree know themselves what it takes to achieve that level of success.

GOALS: WRITE DAILY + STRETCH!

“Most people are so apathetic about their goals that they only write them down once a year. As far as I’m concerned, nothing worth doing is done only once or twice a year.” – Grant Cardone
Everyday is another day to push yourself further. Making goals once a year is just “taking normal levels of action” (well probably more than normal… unfortunately), but by setting goals daily, you become more focused, you start stretching each goal a little more and after one year, you will see just how much further you are than where you would’ve been.

OBSESSION ISN’T A DISEASE; IT’S A GIFT

“I suggest you become obsessed about the things you want; otherwise, you are going to spend a lifetime being obsessed with making up excuses as to why you didn’t get the life you wanted.” – Grant Cardone
That quote says it all.

IT’S TIME TO STARVE FEAR OF ITS FAVORITE FOOD

“The more time you devote to the object of your apprehension, the stronger it becomes. So starve the fear of its favorite food by removing time from its menu.” – Grant Cardone
Another powerful quote. Everytime that you’re about to do something you’re not familiar / comfortable with, a part of you gets anxious and by giving it more time, you just start creating all these extreme scenarios that just makes things worse. This is probably why I like going first in all presentations – so I can’t compare myself / so I can enjoy the rest of the presentations.

THE TORTOISE VS. THE HARE VS. SMOKEY

The suggestion here is to approach your goals like the tortoise and the hare—by attacking them ruthlessly from the beginning and also staying with them throughout the course of the ‘race.’” – Grant Cardone
It doesn’t have to be either or – take them both!

My Take Aways

Reading this PN is actually the perfect time for me right now. I’ve been wondering if I’m moving as fast as I can and if others are slowing me down. This doesn’t give me the answer to that, but it does give me a way to analyze my situation. Particularly when it comes to the 10x rule and the 4 degrees of action.

Which leads me to say that this is a book that I should read sooner than later so that I can figure out my next steps (or get more lost, which would be even better!). If you’re interested in The 10x Rule and you’d be open to supporting me, please get it here at Amazon (please note that I will be getting a small amount from Amazon, though it does not affect how much you pay – Amazon just makes less money than if you were to go onto the website yourself). I also suggest you check out the actual Philosopher’s Notes (note they even have courses that consolidate many of the concepts in the books that Brian Joshnson covers and puts them into videos that are really easy to digest). This is the first program that I’ve signed up for and am definitely getting my money’s worth!

So what are your thoughts about the post?

