The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success by Deepak Chopra

THE LAW OF PURE POTENTIALITY

“When you discover your essential nature and know who you really are, in that knowing itself is the ability to fulfill any dream you have… and the more you experience your true nature, the closer you are to the field of pure potentiality.” – Deepak Chopra
I don’t know if I have found this in myself – there are definitely times when I am almost in a trance, and I am starting to find things that truly get my going, but I don’t know if I can say I have found who I really am. Maybe that’s a sign that I need to pick up this book…

STILLNESS

“Stillness is the first requirement of manifesting your desires, because in stillness lies your connection to the field of pure potentiality that can orchestrate an infinity of details for you.” – Deepak Chopra
A 20 minute meditation session is the first thing I do when I wake up. I’ve been doing this for just about 2 months now and I plan on continuing this practice indefinitely. Although I don’t notice a day to day difference, I do notice myself while I’m meditating and I do feel calmer throughout the day compared to the days prior to the meditation practice. It’s a practice I highly recommend to everyone and if you’re not sure how to meditate, I use the program headspace.

THE LAW OF GIVING

“In fact, the easiest way to get what you want is to help others get what they want.” – Deepak Chopra
This is a very interesting topic for me. I know I’m naturally a connector – I love connecting people to each other. I have no problems sharing and do look out for people. However, I don’t know if I can say I help others get what they want – unlike the stillness piece – I know I’m doing that. Maybe upon further reading, something will click for me to say yes I am or this is what I’ve been holding back.

THE LAW OF “KARMA”

“The best way to understand and maximize the use of karmic law is to become consciously aware of the choices we make in every moment.” – Deepak Chopra
This is something I definitely have not taken the time to understand. I do look for the short term affect of what I do, but I never really think about how it could potentially play out long term. I have definitely got called out about this in the past. At the same time, I have also not thought about anything in this format before so maybe I will start subconsciously thinking about the long term effects.

THE LAW OF LEAST EFFORT

“Grass doesn’t try to grow, it just grows. Fish don’t try to swim, they just swim. Flowers don’t try to bloom, they bloom. Birds don’t try to fly, they fly. This is their intrinsic nature.” – Deepak Chopra
This comes with three practices – acceptance, responsibility and defenselessness. This translates to: accept what is, choose a constructive response, and be at a place where you don’t be defensive. I’m not sure why this is called the law of least effort – I was thinking something along the lines of “it just is” was the idea behind the quote.

THE LAW OF INTENTION & DESIRE

“Learn to harness the power of intention, and you can create anything you desire.” – Deepak Chopra
Turthfully, I’m not too sure where this is going… boy, haven’t been stumped like this…

THE LAW OF DETACHMENT

“The Law of Detachment says that in order to acquire anything in the physical universe, you have to relinquish your attachment to it. This doesn’t mean that you give up the intention to create your desire. You don’t give up the intention, and you don’t give up the desire. You give up your attachment to the result.” – Deepak Chopra
Another one that I couldn’t figure out myself, but Brian Johnson broke it down in the PN as main our passionate commitment to our ideals and goals and intention and desires – just don’t be attached.
Even with the expansion of this concept, I still feel that I’m not truly grasping the idea. If I would have to place this is words that I’d understand, I’d say something along the lines of “work towards your goals, but do not but when things don’t go in your favour, don’t be too hard on yourself.” No idea if I’m anywhere near correct.

THE LAW OF “DHARMA” OR PURPOSE IN LIFE

“Everyone has a purpose in life… a unique gift or special talent to give to others. And when we blend this unique talent with service to others, we experience the ecstasy and exultation of our own spirit, which is the ultimate goal of goals.” – Deepak Chopra
This is the chapter that is responsible for the existence of Philosopher’s Notes – according to Brian, after reading this chapter, he instantly knew what he was doing before was not the real him.
I would be very interested in seeing how this chapter would influence me. The PN mentions that this part of the book gives you a bunch of questions and exercises to help you discouver and live your dharma.

My Take Aways

I decided to give this book to my sister for her birthday – solely based off reading all the descriptions of the books under wealth and Johnson focused in on this book, quoting, “This is easily one of THE most transformative books I’ve ever read.” Now that I’ve had a chance to fully read and tried (and failed) to analyze this PN, I honestly have never felt so lost before with certain concepts, as I have with some of the concepts highlighed in this PN. It goes to show that I’m still a little baby when it comes to my spiritual journey. However, I am super excited to get this book for myself and maybe have a conversation with my sister around this book in the future (she’s totally going to hate me when she sees this… hopefully she thanks me sometime in the future)

I know I didn’t do a good job providing you with any value this time around so please don’t judge this book based off what I wrote. I suggest you pull up what people have been saying on goodreads and if that entices you, you can get it on Amazon here (please note that I will be getting a small amount from Amazon, though it does not affect how much you pay – Amazon just makes less money than if you were to go onto the website yourself). I also suggest you check out the actual Philosopher’s Notes (note they even have courses that consolidate many of the concepts in the books that Brian Joshnson covers and puts them into videos that are really easy to digest). This is the first program that I’ve signed up for and am definitely getting my money’s worth!

Besides that, I look forward to updating you once I finish reading this book – I really hope for the same smack in the face that Johnson went through!

So what are your thoughts about the post?

