Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill

IMPOSSIBLE

“I had learned, from years of experience with men, that when a man really desires a thing so deeply that he is willing to stake his entire future on a single turn of the wheel in order to get it, he is sure to win.” – Thomas Edison
I completely agree with him. If I ever run into anyone who was super focused on their goals, I will always keep them in the back of my mind and would take them on in a heartbeat because they know what it means to focus in on their goals.

GET TANTRIC & BURN THE SHIPS

“Every person who wins in any undertaking must be willing to burn his ships and cut all sources of retreat. Only by so doing can one be sure of maintaining that state of mind known as a burning desire to win, essential to success.” – Napoleon Hill
I do not think I’ve ever put myself in a situation where my exit was completely blocked off – the closest I’ve been was telling a bunch of people that I was going to accomplish xyz, making it much harder for me to back out (I actually do that quite a bit). I envy those who have actually blocked out their exit. If you are someone who has done something like that, I would love to talk to you!

THOUGHTS ARE THINGS

“When Henley wrote the prophetic lines, ‘I am the master of my fate, I am the captain of my soul,’ he should have informed us that we are the masters of our fate, the captains of our souls, because we have the power to control our thoughts.” – Napoleon Hill
This is actually a really cool concept that I have been working towards. The idea is that when priming your conscious mind, you are slowly priming your unconscious mind so it starts looking for answers to your goals even when you’re paying attention to it. However, the PN takes it one step further and talks about how various things magically start happening to get you there. That’s pretty cool, but slightly out of my realm (just a tad) so I’m not counting on that to help me.

FAITH & DOMINANT THOUGHTS

“Every man is what he is because of the dominating thoughts which he permits to occupy his mind.” – Napoleon Hill
My dominating thought for the past while (year or two) – how can I leverage this in my everyday life, or what do I need to learn now to leverage it throughout my life. I think it’s most prominent in 2015 since I’m now done school (well, done AIESEC – school never really stopped me from anything..), and actually have made quite a few strides in various topics to get me on the path to self mastery.

SELF-CONFIDENCE FORMULA

1. know that you have the ability to achieve the object of your definite purpose in life
2. realize the dominating thoughts of your mind will eventually reproduce themselves

FIRST PLAN FAIL? TRY ANOTHER!

“We see men who have accumulated great fortunes, but we often recognize only their triumph, overlooking the temporary defeats which they had to surmount before ‘arriving.’” – Napoleon Hill
A really powerful quote by Winston Churchill that truly resonates with me: “Success is going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm”. That is something I must learn.

POWER OF THE MASTER MIND

“Without doubt, the most common weakness of all human beings is the habit of leaving their minds open to the negative influence of other people.” – Napoleon Hill
Have you heard of the quote “You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with”? That’s from Tony Robins, who got it from his mentor Jim Rohn. I don’t know who my top 5 are but I do want to be able to say I have a top 5 and they are all after the same goal. So if you are reading this and know of someone (yourself included), let me know!
Another thing that I think would be a good exercise for you to do is to go through all your facebook friends / linkedin connections and actually objectively decide if they are someone you want to keep connected with. Do not say yes just because you feel bad. I went through about 2000 and kept 50 when I did this exercise and even then I still feel like that’s a lot. After you make the list, actually try to keep in contact with them. That’s where I’m at now – it’s hard but when you do reconnect, it’s pretty awesome.

PERSISTENCE

“The starting point of all achievement is desire. Keep this constantly in mind. Weak desires bring weak results, just as a small amount of fire makes a small amount of heat. If you find yourself lacking in persistence, this weakness may be removed by building a stronger fire under your desires.” – Napoleon Hill
On the other hand, stop doing things just because you feel like it. Clear up all the junk and focus in on your desire.

My Take Aways

This is a book I got for my birthday earlier this year and unfortunately, a book that I have yet finished (I ended up lending this to my sister). But I do know that this book is packed with wisdom, and as Brian Johnson mentioned in the PN, Think and Grow Rich is known as the Grand-daddy of all motivational literature, and a big influence of many modern self development teacher. Although this book is focused on monetary wealth as a whole, you can definitely apply it to everything else in life (basing this on the PN). If you are interested in getting to one of the roots of self-development, I suggest you also look at Think and Grow Rich (please note that I will be getting a small amount from Amazon, though it does not affect how much you pay – Amazon just makes less money than if you were to go onto the website yourself). I also suggest you check out the actual Philosopher’s Notes (note they even have courses that consolidate many of the concepts in the books that Brian Joshnson covers and puts them into videos that are really easy to digest). This is the first program that I’ve signed up for and am definitely getting my money’s worth!

As mentioned earlier, let me know what you’re doing to surround yourself with top performers!

So what are your thoughts about the post?

