EntreLeadership by Dave Ramsey

What is EntreLeadership

“EntreLeadership is defined as “the process of leading to cause a venture to grow and prosper.”” – Dave Ramsey

You are the problem… and the solution

“The problem with your company is not the economy, it is not the lack of opportunity, it is not your team. The problem is you. That is the bad news. The good news is, if you’re the problem, you’re also the solution. You’re the one person you can change the easiest. You can decide to grow. Grow your abilities, your character, your education, and your capacity. You can decide who you want to be and get about the business of becoming that person.”- Dave Ramsey
One of the most powerful thoughts I’ve recently stumbled upon was by Brian Tracy’s Accelerated Learning Techniques. In it, he mentioned that you should view yourself as your own company, and that when you are working for someone, you are selling your company’s time. But more importantly, it’s your responsibility to make sure that your business stays competitive. You are responsible for your own sales and marketing, and you are also in charge of your own training and development. You are in charge of your own training and development.
If something is not going the way you want, find out what YOU can do about it because that is the only thing you can control.

Manage Activities

“As a young entrepreneur, before I became an EntreLeader, I often tried to manage results. I would do things like try to get sales revenues up or try to get team morale up or get profits up. I finally realized that results are generated by activities. If I manage my activities then the results I want occur.” – Dave Ramsey
It’s good to have a goal that you want to acheive, but goals will not magically happen. It requires small steps to get to. These are the activities that you have control over. Look at your goals and figure out what activities will get you there. Once you have that figured out, manage your day to achieve the activities.
Activities that I do on a daily basis is meditate, exercise, read / summarize PN, and reflect. Of course, I haven’t been successful in doing them all each day, but I have made that a priority before sleeping / after getting up. I have other goals that have yet been broken down to activities, but they will be in the near future!

Finding Synergy

The story that the PN covered is the fact that a Belgium horse can pull 8000lbs. But if you have two of them together, they can pull 24000lbs. To make things even more interesting, if they were raised and trained together, they think as one and can pull 32000lbs – 4x the amount one can pull.
I believe this idea is to find ways to create synergies within your teams and objectives.

The Enemies of Synergy

“1. Lack of intention and thoroughness about communication.
2. Lack of intention and thoroughness about goal setting and shared purpose.
3. Gossip.
4. Unresolved disagreements.
5. Sanctioned incompetence.” – Dave Ramsey

Is the Passion There?

“You cannot lead without passion. Passion causes things to move, and passion creates a force multiplier. Passion actually covers a multitude of sins. Real EntreLeaders care deeply, and that is basically what passion is. Passion is not yelling or being wild; it is simply caring deeply.” – Dave Ramsey

Visioning

“As the EntreLeader you have to share your vision with your team early and often. It is impossible to talk about it too much. Andy Stanley has a great book out called Visioneering. Andy says you have to discuss the vision of the organization twenty-one times before people start to hear it.” – Dave Ramsey
Although I cannot speak as a leader of a company, this is a question I ask myself every few months. Is my vision still the same, do I have new priorities, do I really know what I want (the answer is no).

Never Go All In

“Too many businesses have closed as a result of going all in on one decision that they just knew would be a success. I’ve spent twenty years building this business; I’m not going to risk the whole thing on any one decision, idea, or product line. We never go all in.” – Dave Ramsey
I’m a little torn on this one. Of course we’re talking about business and not personal, but I also feel that unless you’re willing to go all in, you will always have a part of you that knows you can fail and still be okay (in one shape or form).

Make Decisions

“You will find that decisions are liberating. The paradox is that some of the most stressed people on the planet are people who are frozen by indecision. There is a tremendous energy and peace that decision making brings. Your team is energized by a leader who can make the call as well.” – Dave Ramsey
The PN goes on to talk about David Allen’s “Getting Things Done” approach – if it takes less than 2 mins, do it now. I agree for the most part – do things as early as you can so that you won’t have to worry about it (for me I tend to forget that I even did it). However, there is another aspect that you should realize. Just because it takes a short amount of time to do, if you were concentrated on doing one thing and suddenly did another, your concentration is gone and it might take minutes (if not hours) to get it back. That’s why I tend to start and finish one thing before I switch tasks, unless it was something that won’t take more than a minute to get back on track.

It Takes 15 Years to be an Overnight Success

“Remember, you work your tail off for fifteen years and you are suddenly an overnight success.” – Dave Ramsey
According to Ramsey and Johnson, the 10,000 hours is a very accurate depiction of how long it takes to become a success. Just doing the math, assuming you do 2 hours each day, it would take 13.7 years to reach 10,000 hours. This got me to think what exactly is it that I want to be a master at…

My Take Aways

Another powerful book that resonated with me. In terms of take aways, I know I have a lot to work on with each of these major ideas, but decisions and success are the top two for me. With decisions, although I consciously make a lot of them daily, I know there are still decisions that I don’t make any effort to figure out (sleeping in being one of them). Also, with success, if it takes almost 15 years to get there at 2hrs/day, it means that I can only really work towards being a master of 2-6 things every 15 years (and this is assuming that I would want to live a life spending the majority of it working towards these things). In a more hypothetical realistic term, I see myself being able to reach 2 in 15 years. Which ones – I don’t know. A lot to think about.

EntreLeadership is definitely on my to read list, especially since it’s written based off experience. However, it’s a book that I don’t see myself reading until I do have my own business and need to scale both goals and personnel. If you feel like this is a book that you’re ready to devour, please buy it here (please note that I will be getting a small amount from Amazon, though it does not affect how much you pay – Amazon just makes less money than if you were to go onto the website yourself). I also suggest you check out the actual Philosopher’s Notes (note they even have courses that consolidate many of the concepts in the books that Brian Joshnson covers and puts them into videos that are really easy to digest). This is the first program that I’ve signed up for and am definitely getting my money’s worth!

How is your entreLeadership journey coming along?

So what are your thoughts about the post?

