Secrets of the Millionaire Mind by T Harv

PLAYING TO WIN

Most people play to not lose, however, you have to play to win. Only then will you seriously at everything to find small little wins to get ahead in life. I’ve noticed this with a lot of people – when I talk to them, they tend to talk in the negatives (I don’t want to get fired, I don’t want so and so to hate me). In the past I was also like that. However, over time (there was probably one paradigm shifting moment, but I don’t remember) the way I talk and think is more of a to win state (I will).

FRUITS & ROOTS

“In every forest, on every farm, in every orchard on earth, it’s what’s under the ground that creates what’s above the ground. That’s why placing your attention on the fruits that you have already grown is futile. You cannot change the fruits that are already hanging on the tree. You can, however, change tomorrow’s fruits. But to do so, you will have to dig below the ground and strengthen the roots.” – T Harv
I think I learned this early on in life. It all started with me flunking a Chinese test (god I hated those) and my dad saying it’s okay, let’s focus on what we can do next time to improve. Unfortunately for the both of us, my Chinese never improved… BUT I do have that mindset for almost everything now!

PROGRAMMING YOUR RESULTS

“Your programming leads to your thoughts; your thoughts lead to your feelings; your feelings lead to your actions; your actions lead to your results. Therefore, just as is done with a personal computer, by changing your programming, you take the first essential step to changing your results.” – T Harv
Johnson noted in the PN that it’s unfortunate that most of the things we’ve been programmed to think / believe are not the best for us. Therefore, it’s up to each of us to reprogram ourselves to think otherwise. The fact that you’re reading this right now means you are already down that path – keep it up!

THOUGHTS & RENT

“No thought lives in your head rent-free.” – T Harv
A simple but really powerful quote. For me, I know I’m letting a lot more positive thoughts live in my head than negative. Another thing I do daily is write my thoughts down so that my brain isn’t trying to remember everything, but rather it can focus on helping me reach my goals.

TAKE THE WHEEL

“If you want to create wealth, it is imperative that you believe that you are at the steering wheel of life, especially your financial life.” – T Harv
I am definitely controlling most of my life. I know there are parts where I’m in the back seat, but I’m always trying to find ways to take control of the situations that happen in my life. Unfortunately, as T Harv puts it, “Poor people choose to play the role of the victim.” So I do suggest you look at your own life and see what parts you’re controlling and what parts you’re playing victim in.

WANTING VS. COMMITTING

“Rich people are committed to being rich. Poor people want to be rich.” – T Harv
This goes back to the first big idea. Most people are after wants – I want to be rich, I want to have more time, I want to hit my number. However, from my own experience, the majority of those people do not reach those wants. By saying I will, your brain will naturally start finding ways to get you there. That’s why everytime my girlfriend says she wants something, I correct her and say “do you mean you will?”

SIZES: YOU VS. YOUR PROBLEMS

“If you have a big problem in your life, all that means is that you are being a small person!” – T Harv
Another simple but powerful quote. If you’re at a level 3, and your problem is at a level 5, you will instantly feel overwhelmed. However, if you were a level 6, that level 5 problem seems like minor details. How do you level up? By constantly challenging yourself – take on those level 4 problems until you hit level 4. It’s a never ending road to mastery, but the more you understand, the more you can do without breaking a sweat.

My Take Aways

This PN only focused on the psychology of wealth creation instead of the actual suggestions and tips that Harv provides. But even then, Johnson covered just 21 of the big ideas (and if you noticed, I didn’t even cover half of those). That said, based off the PN, Secrets of the Millionaire Mind has a lot of really great concepts. I’m curious as to how he relates this to actually growing your wealth so I will be putting this book on my to read list. If you found this as inspiring as I did, you can buy the book on Amazon (note they even have courses that consolidate many of the concepts in the books that Brian Joshnson covers and puts them into videos that are really easy to digest). This is the first program that I’ve signed up for and am definitely getting my money’s worth!

Was there anything in particular that resonated with you?

So what are your thoughts about the post?

