The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle

WATCHING THE THINKER

“When you listen to that voice, listen to it impartially. That is to say, do not judge. Do not judge or condemn what you hear, for doing so would mean that the same voice has come in again through the back door. – Eckhart Tolle
A very powerful idea – instead of listening to the voice inside your head, watch it. Realize that you are taking a third person view on the thought before deciding anything. This is something I’m slowly building up to through meditation and I have actually used in real life – it really works.

ACCEPT IT AS IF YOU HAD CHOSEN IT

“Accept—then act. Whatever the present moment contains, accept it as if you had chosen it. Always work with it, not against it. Make it your friend and ally, not your enemy. This will miraculously transform your whole life.” – Eckhart Tolle
Another power idea. Even though you might not have actually chosen the circumstances, it only does you worst by rejecting what’s happening. However, by accepting it, you will instantly shift your mindset from being stressed out to actively thinking of a way to change the current situation – leaving you much happier and productive.

CLOCK TIME VS. PSYCHOLOGICAL TIME

“If you set yourself a goal and work toward it, you are using clock time. You are aware of where you want to go, but you honor and give your fullest attention to the step that you are taking at this moment. If you then become excessively focused on the goal, perhaps because you are seeking happiness, fulfillment, or a more complete sense of self in it, the Now is no longer honored. It becomes reduced to a mere stepping stone to the future, with no intrinsic value. Clock time then turns into psychological time. Your life’s journey is no longer an adventure, just an obsessive need to arrive, to attain, to ‘make it.’ You no longer see or smell the flowers by the wayside either, nor are you aware of the beauty and the miracle of life that unfolds all around you when you are present in the Now.” – Eckhart Tolle
This guy is full of really powerful ideas. I have not thought about time in this concept before, but that quote really shifted my paradigm on time. I know there are definitely times (many times…) when I feel like I’m solely focused on the goal and not enjoying the adventure. Take when I started creating my budget for example. At that time I was solely focused on my long term goal for wealth that I ignored many things (be it going out, to buying certain things). I’d like to think that I’m a little better now, investing money in myself to read and to sign up to programs like this. I’m starting to enjoy the journey of getting to my goal.

PRESENCE & THE PROMISE OF SALVATION

“All negativity is caused by an accumulation of psychological time and denial of the present. Unease, anxiety, tension, stress, worry—all forms of fear—are caused by too much future, and not enough presence. Guilt, regret, resentment, grievances, sadness, bitterness, and all forms of nonforgiveness are caused by too much past, and not enough presence.” – Eckhart Tolle
I don’t think there’s much more to say besides if you’re experiencing any of these, you’re not in the Now. Take a step back (or forward) and root yourself in the Now – think things through in terms of what you can do Now (including accepting the past and moving on) and go from there.

My Take Aways

I’m going to end it there as I have literally quoted the whole quote for every single idea. Eckart Tolle has so many powerful things to say and for me to reflect on. I have actually started reading this book as my friend Sean mentioned that this was a book that I had to read. I’ve gotten through just over half of it and truthfully, I didn’t really understand what was being communicated. However, listening / reading to this PN, I have a much better understanding of what the Now means. I’m ready and excited to finish this book (I actually found a copy at a used book store so I grabbed a copy from there). If you’re interested in learning more about The Power of Now, you can get it at Amazon through this link (please note that I will be getting a small amount from Amazon, though it does not affect how much you pay – Amazon just makes less money than if you were to go onto the website yourself). I also suggest you check out the actual Philosopher’s Notes (note they even have courses that consolidate many of the concepts in the books that Brian Joshnson covers and puts them into videos that are really easy to digest). This is the first program that I’ve signed up for and am definitely getting my money’s worth!

What quote resonates most with you?

One response to “The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle

  1. Pingback: A New Earth by Eckhart Tolle |·

So what are your thoughts about the post?

