The Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey

DELAY THE GRATIFICATION

“It is human nature to want it and want it now; it is also a sign of immaturity. Being willing to delay pleasure for a greater result is a sign of maturity. However, our culture teaches us to live for the now. “I want it!” we scream, and we can get it if we are willing to go into debt. Debt is a means to obtain the “I want its” before we can afford them.” – Dave Ramsey
Super true – our economy is the way it is today because of everyone’s want for instant gratification – I’m a culprit too. Although I typically don’t want anything (ie/ super frugal), if I do find something I want, I make the purchase right there (luckily, most of these purchases are books / small home reno stuff). Luckily, I have never actually bought a bunch of stuff on credit when I had no cash in the bank.

ONE BITE AT A TIME

“The way you eat an elephant is one bite at a time. Find something to do and do that with vigor until it is complete; then and only then do you move to the next step. If you try to do everything at once, you will fail.” – Dave Ramsey
I agree with this statement to a certain extent. It is true that there needs to be focus – you cannot do everything at once and complete it without defects. However, there might be some parallel things that you could do to to move towards your goal. For example, I want to work out both my body and mind so each day I put aside 30 minutes for meditation and 30 minutes for a workout. I’m not where I want to be just yet, but within each week, I notice I’m slightly better.

AIMING AT THE GOAL

“My point is that we don’t wander aimlessly around in any other parts of our lives, but we seem to think that will work with money. You can’t get ready, fire, and then aim with money, and you can’t try to do six things at the same time.” – Dave Ramsey
It took me awhile to realize that I was just letting my money wander around. It wasn’t until I read Money: Master the Game by Tony Robbins that I realized that I never defined what exactly it is I want to achieve and how much does it actually require. Spend some time understanding what it is you want in life, work it backwards and you will realize that you actually need a lot less than you originally thought to achieve those goals.

STUDY THE MILLIONAIRE

“Remember, if you want to be thin and muscular, you should study the habits of people who are thin and muscular. If you want to be rich, you should study the habits and value systems of the rich.” – Dave Ramsey
I don’t know enough millionaires just yet to tell you how they act, but from the study that Ramsey mentions, “the typical millionaire lives in a middle-class home, drives a two-year-old or paid-for car, and buys blue jeans at Walmart”. At the end of the day, they are not looking for approval and respect from others based off what they owned. So I guess if you want to be a millionaire (and I have goals to reach that point relatively soon), maybe you should think about that lifestyle (I’m glad to know that I currently live it).

THE ROSE & YOUR POTENTIAL

“flower is not better when it blooms than when it is merely a bud; at each stage it is the same thing . . . a flower in the process of expressing its potential. The story of the rose is about human potential and about not being defined by what you do, but rather by who you are.” – Dave Ramsey
It takes time to build up wealth, just as it takes time for a bud to sprout into a rose. Understand that and don’t be too hard on yourself.

MONEY GIVES POWER TO GOOD INTENTIONS

“The good Samaritan had a good heart and a heavy enough purse to pay an innkeeper to help take care of the injured man. Money was involved. Money was at its best that day. Money gives power to good intentions. That’s why I’m unashamedly in favor of building wealth.” – Dave Ramsey
I think this is a concept that many struggle with (I too, had my challenges grasping this). There was a great TED talk that was saying that money is required to create impact, yet we as society, put shame to charities and non profits for spending so much money on people and marketing, and not all of it on the end goal. However, if you think about it, these organizations need to be able to get top talent to build the best processes. They need to spread the word on what they’re doing so more people can support them and once both of those are set, they can really deliver the best quality help to really drive an impact.
All in all, to view money as evil is being ignorant. Yes, you have individuals who use money for evil, or do evil things to get money, but those are the stories that get the most emotions out of you, which is why media spends so much time on those types of stories.

My Take Aways

The Total Money Makeover is suppose to be a book for those who are in debt to read and grasp how they can get out of the vicious cycle. However, I highly doubt that any of you reading this post (or this blog in general) are the type to get yourself in the situation in the first place. That said, I’m sure we all know a few people who are struggling with this concept.

If you do have someone that you want to help get out of the hole, maybe this book would be a way to help. You can get the book at Amazon through this link (please note that I will be getting a small amount from Amazon, though it does not affect how much you pay – Amazon just makes less money than if you were to go onto the website yourself). I also suggest you check out the actual Philosopher’s Notes (note they even have courses that consolidate many of the concepts in the books that Brian Joshnson covers and puts them into videos that are really easy to digest). This is the first program that I’ve signed up for and am definitely getting my money’s worth!

It’s almost Christmas time so don’t go too crazy that you end up in the hole yourself. Oh, and watch the TED talk, think about it and maybe take an action to spread the warmth?

So what are your thoughts about the post?

