The Science of Getting Rich by Wallace Wattles

WHY YOU SHOULD GET RICH

“You can render to God and humanity no greater service than to make the most of yourself.” – Wallace Wattles
For those who think money is evil, realize that both Gandhi and Mother Teresa are both very rich. As Brian Johnson mentions in the PN: “Think about it: Do you really think Gandhi or Mother Teresa could have run their organizations with no money?” They have millions being donated to them (their organization) each year. However, they choose to do something different with their money that doesn’t get as much attention: they invest it in amplifying their impact instead of purchasing material things.
This is the reason why you should also strive to be rich. You have many more options open to you when you don’t have to worry about barriers that can be brought down by money.

BECOME A CREATOR, NOT A COMPETITOR

“You are to become a creator, not a competitor; you are going to get what you want, but in such a way that when you get it every other man will have more than he has now.” – Wallace Wattles
Going back to the first point, you will only get rich by helping others. That means the more successful you are, the more successful the person / group you’re serving become. You don’t have to compete with other people to serve – just simply serve.
“P.S. Did you know the word compete comes from the Latin competere and means to “aim at, seek” (petere) “TOGETHER” (com). To seek together, not against, but together.” – Brian Johnson
Oh how society has completely changed the initial meaning…

WHAT DO YOU LIKE

“It is true that you will do best in a business which you like, and which is congenial to you; and if you have certain talents which are well developed, you will do best in a business which calls for the exercise of those talents.” – Wallace Wattles
I mean, this gets touched on in essentially every PN. Do what you like in a way that creates value to others and you will find a way to become rich.

VISION & ACTION

“In order to get rich you do not need a ‘sweet hour of prayer’; you need to ‘pray without ceasing.’ And by prayer I mean holding steadily to your vision, with the purpose to cause its creation into solid form, and the faith that you are doing so.” – Wallace Wattles
Getting rich won’t happen overnight and it won’t happen if you don’t have a vision of how you’re going to get there. So create that vision, take action and trust yourself that you’re getting closer each day. But seriously make sure that you take your time with the vision.

My Take Aways

A super short book (Brian says it’s 30 pages and it’s all online) but it has some pretty important ideas, particularly the first one. It was something that I had troubles understanding, particularly when I first graduated with student debt. However, I think I’m starting to understand it more and more. So long as my wealth is not going towards material things, but used to create impact to society, I think it’ll work out. Of course, a part of me is afraid that I’ll start creating excuses to do other things with my money, which is why I’m already starting to donate to various charities and initiatives – I’m getting myself in the habit of doing it now.

I won’t be putting this on my to read list mainly because I don’t feel like there were many big topics that really caught my attention. However, if you are interested in this short read, try finding it online or if you would like to simply support me and read the book, you can get it on Amazon here. I also suggest you check out the actual Philosopher’s Notes (note they even have courses that consolidate many of the concepts in the books that Brian Joshnson covers and puts them into videos that are really easy to digest). This is the first program that I’ve signed up for and am definitely getting my money’s worth!

So what are your thoughts about the post?

