Money, and the Law of Attraction by Esther and Jerry Hicks

YOUR LIFETIME CAREER

“If we were talking to you on your first day of physical experience, we could be of great advantage to you because we would say, ‘Welcome to planet Earth. There is nothing you cannot be or do or have. And your work here—your lifetime career—is to seek joy.’” – Esther and Jerry Hicks
This doesn’t necessarily mean that you will always be happy, but to constantly seek out ways to experience the joy you’re looking for. For example, as a sales person, I don’t enjoy the feeling of rejection. However, I enjoy changing my communication ever so slightly and notice that it attracts more people. I enjoy helping others realize that there are much better solutions to their challenges. My day to day is still more rejections than those joyful moments (that’ll change), but I’m enjoying the challenge and the rewards that come with it.

THE MOST VALUABLE SKILL

“The most valuable skill that you could ever develop is the skill of directing your thoughts toward what you want—to be adept at quickly evaluating all situations and then quickly coming to the conclusion of what you most want—and then giving your undivided attention to that.” – Esther and Jerry Hicks
I am by no means a master of this, but I think I do this better than most people, which is probably why I am more successful than most people. However, I do understand how others are thinking as I’ve been there before. The feeling that you’re constantly busy because of the various projects that you’re working on can make you feel like you’re achieving a lot. But if you were to break it down, majority of those things are not as important in getting you to where you want to be. That’s why it’s important to sit down and thoroughly look through your options before committing to the one or two tasks that will get you where you want. The more you practice this, the easier it’ll be.

THE REALITY OF YOUR LIFE

“People talk about the reality of their life as if it is important. And we want you to understand, it’s only the temporary indicator. Do you go to the gas station—your gas gauge is on empty—do you go to the gas station and look at your gas gauge in horror? ‘How did this happen? Why, why, why did this happen to me?’ Do you lay your head on the steering wheel and just sob? ‘Oh, look what it’s come to. I’m finished. I’ve lived all of this life, and look where I am.’ Or do you just fill up.” – Esther and Jerry Hicks
Not much more I can say to that…

TELLING A NEW STORY

“You have to begin to tell the story of your life as you now want it to be and discontinue the tales of how it has been or of how it is.” – Esther and Jerry Hicks
Instead of always telling yourself and others the negatives of something (why it won’t work, why you can’t do it, why you’re not as successful as you want), try talking about what steps you’re going to take to make it work. Catch your negative moments, don’t let those thoughts complete itself and instead think of your next action.

PROCESS OF PIVOTING

“Whenever you recognize that you are feeling a negative emotion (it is really that you are feeling the lack of harmony with something that you want), the obvious thing for you to do is to stop and say, I’m feeling negative emotion, which means I am not in harmony with something that I want. What do I want?” – Esther and Jerry Hicks
This is a neat idea that I haven’t thought of before. A new goal to add onto my list of goals / habits to achieve: ask what do I want when I’m feeling negative. Not only does it stop myself from thinking of the negative moment, but it focuses my brain to think more positively in a goal oriented manner.

SOCIALIZATION

“While your parents and teachers are, for the most part, well-meaning people, they are nevertheless more interested in your finding ways to please them than in your finding ways to please yourself. And so, in the process of socialization, almost all people in almost all societies lose their way because they are coaxed or coerced away from their own Guidance System.” – Esther and Jerry Hicks
A very important lesson I learned in university. Although my parents have the best intention for me, they were brought up with a very different set of beliefs. Using their own experience, they will try to push me down a different path than the one I want. This is why we don’t always agree on the same things. I’ll try to understand their viewpoint (it does get hard at times), and come up with my own conclusion. I suggest you do that too if you haven’t already had that realization. At the end of the day, it’s your life.

EMOTIONAL GUIDANCE SYSTEM

“You actually only have two choices in emotion: a better-feeling one or a worse-feeling one. So you could accurately say that there are really only two emotions, and you effectively utilize your Guidance System when you deliberately choose the better-feeling of those two options.” – Esther and Jerry Hicks
Never thought of it like that before, but I guess it’s true. When I’m upset, I can either let myself continue to be upset, or tell myself that I want to start feeling better. I guess this can relate to the idea of pivoting.

My Take Aways

There were a few ideas that resonated with me, the biggest one being the whole idea of asking what do I want when I’m feeling down. By asking that, I know that my subconscious mind will work it’s magic searching for answers and help me lift myself out of the rut. Because of that (and because Brian Johnson mentioned that he barely scratches the surface of this book, I’m adding Money, and the Last of Attraction to my list of books to read. If you are interested in this book, you can get it at Amazon through this link here (please note that I will be getting a small amount from Amazon, though it does not affect how much you pay – Amazon just makes less money than if you were to go onto the website yourself). I also suggest you check out the actual Philosopher’s Notes (note they even have courses that consolidate many of the concepts in the books that Brian Joshnson covers and puts them into videos that are really easy to digest). This is the first program that I’ve signed up for and am definitely getting my money’s worth!

What ideas in this summary caught your eye?

One response to “Money, and the Law of Attraction by Esther and Jerry Hicks

  1. Pingback: Ask and it is Given by Esther and Jerry Hicks |·

So what are your thoughts about the post?

