A New Earth by Eckhart Tolle

GOOD NEWS AND BAD NEWS

“A significant portion of the earth’s population will soon recognize, if they haven’t already done so, that humanity is now faced with a stark choice: Evolve or die.” -Eckhart Tolle
He goes on to state that the reason is simply because of “Fear, greed and the desire for power.”
Maybe it’s because it’s becoming easier and easier to share information, but there seems to be more shootings in the states, more global conflicts and a heck of a lot more hatred online.
However, it doesn’t have to be that way. There are also great things being accomplished with the introduction of technology. It’s become much easier to reconnect with friends, to learn about the other side of the story and to stay updated on global issues.

YOUR STATE OF CONSCIOUSNESS

“How ‘spiritual’ you are has nothing to do with what you believe but everything to do with your state of consciousness. This, in turn, determines how you act in the world and interact with others.” – Eckhart Tolle

EVOLUTIONARY SUPPORT

“Life will give you whatever experience is most helpful for the evolution of your consciousness. How do you know this is the experience you need? Because this is the experience you are having at this moment.” – Eckhart Tolle
How many times in the past do you remember saying that you’re life’s terrible, that nothing is going your way. Looking back at it, were any of those actually the case or were the moments in your life that helped shaped the person you are today?
I have an experience very similar to what I described. School was going terribly, I was hating my time there and I didn’t know what to do. However, looking back at it now, that experience helped shaped the person I am today – the type of person to go seek out my own solutions to things that aren’t going right – and I am now so much happier.

SUFFERING

“One of the ego’s many erroneous assumptions, one of its many deluded thoughts is ‘I should not have to suffer.’ … That thought itself lies at the root of suffering. Suffering has a noble purpose: the evolution of consciousness and the burning up of ego.” – Eckhart Tolle
I’ve seen so many people who are always suffering. But everytime I ask what’s wrong, they always reply with something that has to do with their ego. To be fair, I’m currently experiencing the same thing at work – I feel that I’m ready for the next challenge but am being kept back. That hurts the ego which is probably why I’m even more frustrated than need be. However, what I’m trying to do now is to learn everything I need in the next role now so that once I’m there, I’m ready to kick butt.

YOUR THOUGHTS

“If there is nothing you can do, face what is and say, ‘Well, right now, this is how it is. I can either accept it, or make myself miserable.’ The primary cause of unhappiness is never the situation but your thoughts about the situation. Be aware of the thoughts you are thinking. Separate them from the situation, which is always neutral, which always is as it is.” – Eckhart Tolle
I don’t really know how I could add on to that… The primary cause of unhappiness is never the situation but your thoughts about the situation. Are you becoming a victim to your circumstances? The past is the past and you have no control over it. However, you have the ability to do something right now (and the most powerful thing you can do is tell yourself that you refuse to let yourself feel like this).

My Take Away

I actually just finished The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle and really felt like I started to understand a lot more of the ideas that were being talked about. That said, I know that A New Earth is going to be very similar in that it is rich in content and I will want to add this into my collection. If you’re also interested in Eckart’s work, you can get yourself a copy of the book at Amazon (please note that I will be getting a small amount from Amazon, though it does not affect how much you pay – Amazon just makes less money than if you were to go onto the website yourself). I also suggest you check out the actual Philosopher’s Notes (note they even have courses that consolidate many of the concepts in the books that Brian Joshnson covers and puts them into videos that are really easy to digest). This is the first program that I’ve signed up for and am definitely getting my money’s worth!

Were there any big ideas that really resonated with you?

So what are your thoughts about the post?

