As A Man Thinketh by James Allen

DREAM SEEDS

“The greatest achievement was at first and for a time a dream. The oak sleeps in the acorn; the bird waits in the egg; and in the highest vision of the soul a waking angel stirs. Dreams are the seedlings of realities.” – James Allen
I think one of the things that tend to be forgotten is just how much we can do given time. Not just a day or a month, but in years. I remember hearing that we humans tend to overestimate how much we can accomplish in a year, but tend to underestimate how much we can accomplish in three. This is where I believe the magic happens. Actually, that’s kind of a lie – I am doing so much more and am so much better as an individual as I was at the beginning of the year. It’s crazy to look back and see how much I’ve grown.
This is exactly why it is okay to dream big. The bigger it is, and the more often you dream of it, the more you will naturally find ways to make it happen. Heck, my 2 year goals will make what I’ve accomplished this year look like a joke. I don’t know if I’ll get all the way there, but I sure will give it my best.

CHERISH YOUR IDEALS

“Cherish your visions. Cherish your ideals. Cherish the music that stirs in your heart, the beauty that forms in your mind, the loveliness that drapes your purest thoughts, for out of them will grow all delightful conditions, all heavenly environment; of these, if you but remain true to them, your world will at last be built.” – James Allen
There is absolutely no point in reaching your dreams if you lose yourself in the process. Be true to yourself.

EXERCISE YOUR MIND

“As the physically weak man can make himself strong by careful and patient training, so the man of weak thoughts can make them strong by exercising himself in right thinking.” – James Allen
We go through most of our days mindlessly doing things. This is why most of us cannot recall what we did that day. However, if we were to start focusing more on the present while doing whatever we’re doing, we’d be able to start building up our ability to think and proactively find ways to optimize our days. We will also be able to handle more stressful situations as our brains would also be in shape. So keep exercising your brain.

80% OF SUCCESS

“Eighty percent of success is showing up.” – James Allen
Showing up… seriously THE most important step in anything. I have seriously challenged myself to think of reasons not to show up to certain events in the past and it always boiled down to cause I didn’t feel like it. However, every time I decided to force myself to go, I have had a great time and have opened up so many new doors that I never thought existed.
This kind of goes back to exercising your mind. The more often you’re able to step in and be present, the more you’re able to take control of those moments that you don’t want to do anything and make magic happen.

My Take Away

This book (or essay, whatever you’d like to call it) has been referenced so many times by so many different people for so many different reasons. I’m glad to have finally had a snippit of it through the PN. I can’t wait to pick it up myself to read. Brian goes into a lot more of his personal experiences in the PN which also resonated with me and I suggest that you take a read if you are a part of his program. If you’re also interested in this book, you can get it on Amazon (please note that I will be getting a small amount from Amazon, though it does not affect how much you pay – Amazon just makes less money than if you were to go onto the website yourself). I also suggest you check out the actual Philosopher’s Notes (note they even have courses that consolidate many of the concepts in the books that Brian Joshnson covers and puts them into videos that are really easy to digest). This is the first program that I’ve signed up for and am definitely getting my money’s worth!

For those who have read it, what other quotes do you think are key highlights?

So what are your thoughts about the post?

