Ask and it is Given by Esther and Jerry Hicks

THE LAW OF ATTRACTION

The Law of Attraction says: That which is like unto itself is drawn. And so, you might see the powerful Law of Attraction as a sort of Universal Manager that sees to it that all thoughts that match one another line up.” – Esther and Jerry Hicks
This is a really interesting idea / phenomenon. I have definitely experienced moments where I seem to get luckier after doing a good deed. However, I think what Esther and Jerry are talking about is a little different. The idea here is that if you want to feel loved and valued, you have to love and value others. No one can always be loving to someone when they are treated poorly.

A VISIONARY

“So, for an observer, the better it gets, the better it gets; or the worse it gets, the worse it gets. However, one who is a visionary thrives in all times.” – Esther and Jerry Hicks
The idea here is you do not want to be the type of person that adjusts their mood based off how their day starts. If you’re walking to work and you get hit by a wave of water from a car driving by, it sucks – but it should not determine how you view the rest of your day. If you’re able to choose how you will look at the world regardless of external factors, you will be much happier.
This is something I’d like to think I do well in. I tend not to remember events as well as most other people, particularly bad experiences so after a few minutes / hours, I’m ready to continue my day. When something does happen, I might end up swearing a bit but I quickly regain control of my breathing, my heart rate and eventually just move on.

FUEL GAUGES

“When the fuel gauge on your vehicle indicates that the tank is empty, you do not criticize the indicator. You receive the information that it has offered you, and you do something about adding more fuel to your tank. Similarly, a negative feeling is an indicator that your current choice of thoughts has you offering a vibration that is so out of harmony with your Source Energy that you are currently disallowing your full connection to that Energy Stream.” – Esther and Jerry Hicks
I’m like an electic car – runs all day and charges up at night (via sleep). However, for those who do hit those low points, have you ever thought it was because you’re low on positive emotions? As Brian puts it in the PN: “The next time you’re feeling depressed/stressed/angry take a look at your “fuel gauge,” notice that you’re running a little low on “Source Energy,” feel as much gratitude as you can possibly muster, and pull over to the next gas station—whether that’s doing some affirmations, going for a run or hike, playing with your baby, doing some volunteer work, dancing to your favorite song, meditating, thinking of all of the things you’re grateful for, doing a random act of anonymous kindness… whatever your “gas station” is, fill up with Source Energy and you’ll be back on the road in no time!”

APPRECIATION

“Appreciation of others and the appreciation of yourself are the closest vibrational matches to Source Energy of anything we have ever witnessed anywhere in this Universe.” – Esther and Jerry Hicks
This is something I’m actively trying to work on every night. During my journaling time, I will try to list off at least 5 things that I was grateful for. I don’t know if I can say that I feel better each day because of it, but I do know that I’m starting to take moments throughout the day to appreciate things.

My Take Aways

When I first listened to this PN on my way to work I was confused as I remember covering a book from Esther and Jerry Hicks. It turned out it was Money, and the Law of Attraction. This PN covered some pretty big ideas that I’m not completely familiar with (like the law of attraction and how exactly that works). Ask and It is Given also has 22 processes to keep us connected. According to the PN, over half the book focuses on specific things we can do and exercises we can engage in. That said, I definitely need to pick up this book to internalize all the wisdom that is shared. If you’re also interested some practical ideas, I suggest you get yourself a copy from Amazon (please note that I will be getting a small amount from Amazon, though it does not affect how much you pay – Amazon just makes less money than if you were to go onto the website yourself). I also suggest you check out the actual Philosopher’s Notes (note they even have courses that consolidate many of the concepts in the books that Brian Joshnson covers and puts them into videos that are really easy to digest). This is the first program that I’ve signed up for and am definitely getting my money’s worth!

For those who have read this book, which of the 22 processes seemed to be the most valuable?

So what are your thoughts about the post?

